My first shot, another 364 shots are needed for my self-project.

Nikon D5000 with 55mm-200mm Zoom Lens without filter under – S 250 / A f 6.3  / I Lo 1 / 200mm

I took this yesterday after my classes. I was suppose to be doing some research regarding the school’s environmental future, but photography seemed like a more pleasing route to take. I was walking around trying to get rid of the fear of photographing strangers, when I stumbled upon an enormous bushel of flowering shrubs near the college’s church. There were birds, squirrels, groundhogs, flies, bees, the biodiversity was spectacular. It didn’t take me long to ditch human subjects and go towards the churchyard, there is no bickering involved in shooting wildlife…

So, I stumbled upon this bumble bee who was working it’s butt off. I mean, it just wouldn’t stay still. Going from flower to flower, collecting, stimulating, coaxing itself in golden dust. Without a macro lens (to see really small things) it was difficult to get a good shot due to the pain of focusing. However, enough scuttling, ducking, and appearing like a maniac to my peers, I was lucky enough to be in the right spot at the right time and took this photo. I am really happy with the result and the adventure behind getting it. Looking forward to shoot later today, perhaps I can get a human stranger subject to model.

